SportPesa to sponsor 2023 National Sevens Circuit

CEO SportPesa Ronald Karauri presents a dummy cheque worth Sh15 million to Chairman of the Kenya Rugby Union Alexander “Sasha” Mutai during the Renewal of SportPesa-Kenya Rugby Union partnership in in support of Rugby 7s.

FKFPL SportPesa to sponsor 2023 National Sevens Circuit

Mark Kinyanjui 13:00 - 29.06.2023

KRU have announced a partnership deal that will see the 2023 national circuit named the SportPesa Sevens Circuit.

The Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) in association with SportPesa have announced a Ksh15 million sponsorship deal, which will see this season's tourney renamed to SportPesa Sevens Circuit.

In addition, the Kenya Shujaa have also been granted Ksh22 million, which will help the side as they take part in the Olympic qualifying tournament in South Africa in September, having been relegated from the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in May.

The Ksh15 million package will see the overall winners of the circuit take home Ksh600,000, with the runner-up getting Ksh300,000 and the third-placed side taking home Ksh150, 000.

Every leg, the winner will take home Ksh100,000, with the runner-up earning Ksh50, 000 while the third-placed team banks Ksh25,000.

The board will be expected to use Ksh5 million for administration purposes.

Speaking during the launch of the deal, Sportpesa CEO Ronald Karauri revealed that the company was committed to continuing help Kenyan Rugby grow, with plans in place to expand their deal down the line.

“We were in a bad state when our business was shut down. We are still not where we are yet given even taxation rates have gone up, but as we move forward, if our business will prove to have a future and will be sustainable, our future will extend to all other teams that are under the Kenya Rugby Union," Karauri said.

Mutai stressed on the need for the Rugby Union to be accountable in order to help win more sponsorships in future.

“We intend to run rugby as a business. We want to ensure that we uphold accountability and we provide positive return on investment.We shall showcase everything that we have.

The SportPesa Sevens Circuit will kick off on July 1 with the opening round, the Dala 7s at the Jomo Kenyatta International Stadium in Mamboleo, Kisumu City.

This tournament, which is hosted by Kisumu RFC and has been played since 2003 with breaks between 2006 -2008 due to logistical challenges, and again between 2020-2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The coastal city of Mombasa will host the second round, the Driftwood 7s at the Mombasa Sports Club on Saturday 8 July before the circuit breaks for the World Rugby U20 Trophy taking place in Nairobi on 15-30 July.

Nakuru City plays host to the third round, the Prinsloo 7s at the Nakuru Athletic Club on Saturday, 5 August before Nairobi’s RFUEA Ground hosts the Christie 7s on 12 August.

Nairobi will also play host to the circuit finale when the George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial 7s is held on 9 September.

First played in 1999, the Sevens Circuit is an annual series of rugby sevens tournaments run by host clubs in conjunction with the Kenya Rugby Union featuring teams from across the country.

Teams compete for the Sevens Circuit title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The season’s circuit currently comprises 6 tournaments in 5 cities and towns across Kenya.