Menengai Oilers seeded first in Dala Sevens draw with KCB, Kabras favourites in their groups

Ivan Magomu in action against Rhinos on Saturday. (Rugby Union)

RUGBY: Menengai Oilers seeded first in Dala Sevens draw with KCB, Kabras favourites in their groups

Joel Omotto 10:00 - 27.06.2023

The reigning National Sevens Circuit champions will hope to begin the season on a high but the bankers and Kenya Cup winners pose a major challenge

Reigning National Sevens Circuit champions Menengai Oilers have been seeded top in the season-opening Dala Sevens tournament set to take place at Jomo Kenyatta International Stadium in Kisumu on July 1.

Oliers re in Pool A alongside local rivals Nakuru RFC, Nondescripts and Catholic Monks while last season’s runners-up KCB headline a Pool B that also has Kenya Harlequin, Masinde Muliro and Mombasa.

Kenya Cup champions Kabras Sugar are the team to beat in Pool C which also has Strathmore Leos, Daystar Falcons and hosts Kisumu while Pool D comprise Homeboyz, Mwamba, Western Bulls and last season’s overall Division Two champions Makueni.

The tournament, which is hosted by Kisumu RFC and has been played since 2003 with breaks between 2006 and 2008 due to logistical challenges, and again between 2020-2021 due to the COVID19 pandemic.

KCB are the most successful side at Dala, having won four titles, one more than both Mwamba and Homeboyz, who are on three titles each, with Kenya Harlequin and Nakuru on two apiece while Impala Saracens, Strathmore Leos and the defunct military side Ulinzi each having one to their name.

A number of teams have been bolstering their squads ahead of the tournament with KCB roping in Nick Okullo and Lionel Ajeliti both from Thika Road rivals Blak Blad while also signing Elvis Namusasi, William Opaka and Austin Sikutwa.

Mwamba, meanwhile, welcomed back Steve Sikuta who had ditched the club for Kabras Sugar in 2021.


Pool A: Menenegai Oilers, Nakuru, Nondescripts, Catholic Monks

Pool B: KCB, Kenya Harlequin, Masinde Muliro, Mombasa

Pool C: Strathmore Leos, Kabras Sugar, Daystar Falcons, Kisumu

Pool D: Homeboyz, Mwamba, Western Bulls, Makueni