Shujaa to face Tonga, Portugal in Pool A of Uruguay Challenger in March

Photo || KRU

RUGBY Shujaa to face Tonga, Portugal in Pool A of Uruguay Challenger in March

Mark Kinyanjui 16:00 - 25.01.2024

Shujaa were seeded first after winning the opening leg in Dubai and have now known their Pool A opponents for the second tournament in Montevideo, Uruguay in March.

Dubai Challenger Series Champions Kenya will be facing Tonga, Portugal and Georgia in Pool A of the second leg of the 2024 HSBC SVNS Challenger Series that will take place in Montevideo, Uruguay from 8th to 10th of March.

Pool B features finalists Chile, who will compete against Hong Kong and Mexico. The final pool, Pool C, consists of Uruguay, Germany, Uganda, and Papua Guinea.

Shujaa will enter the event as the leader in the competition standings, following their impressive performance in Dubai where they secured victory in five out of six matches.

The team clinched the Challenger Series opener by defeating Chile 12-5 in the final at the Sevens Stadium, with Patrick Odongo’s crucial two tries playing a pivotal role.

Kenya 7s currently hold 20 points, maintaining a two-point lead over Chile, who secured the runner-up spot with 18 points. Despite being eliminated by Kenya 7s, Uruguay secured third place with 16 points, while Germany calculated 14 points, securing fourth place.

The Challenger Series, introduced in February 2020, serves to enhance the global development of rugby sevens and establish a clear promotion pathway to the top tier of global rugby sevens.

The series unfolds in three rounds across three continents, with the top four men’s and women’s teams in the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Challenger 2024 earning the opportunity to participate in a promotion and relegation play-off competition at the SVNS Grand Final in Madrid from May 31 to June 2, 2024. 

This competition will feature teams ranked ninth to 12th from HSBC SVNS 2024.

Follow our Pulse Sports WhatsApp channel for more updates.

HSBC SVNS Challenger Montevideo Pools

Pool A: Kenya , Tonga, Georgia, Portugal

Pool B: Chile, Japan, Hong Kong, Mexico

Pool C: Uruguay, Germany, Uganda, Papua Guinea