Safari Sevens dates revealed as KRU makes changes to National Sevens Circuit programme

Safari Sevens dates revealed as KRU makes changes to National Sevens Circuit programme

Joel Omotto 20:15 - 29.04.2024

Shujaa have learned when they will make their Safari Sevens title defence while there will be a new tournament on the National Sevens Circuit roster.

This year’s edition of the Safari Sevens will take place from October 11-13 at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi.

In what will be a second straight year since the tournament returned following a three-year break, Kenya Rugby Union hopes for a bigger event than that witnessed in 2023 when fans did not turn out in large numbers as it was expected.

Shujaa are the defending champions of the Safari Sevens tournament after Patrick Odongo inspired them to the title with two tries as they thrashed Samurai 19-0 in the final.

The Safari Sevens will be preceded by the National Sevens Circuit which will kick off with the Christie Sevens in Nairobi from July 27-28.

It will give way to the KRU Sevens, a new entrant on the circuit, which will be hosted by Kabras Sugar at the Kakamega Showground from August 3-4. The Kakamega event will replace the Tisap Sevens which was held in Eldoret last year.

From Kakamega, action will move to Kisumu for the Dala Sevens from August 17-18 followed by the Kabeberi Sevens in Nairobi from August 24-25.

Mombasa will then play host to the Driftwood Sevens from September 7-8 before the season concludes at the Prinsloo tournament in Nakuru from September 14-15.

KCB are the defending champions of the National Sevens Circuit after they dislodged Kabras, who appeared to be cruising to the title until a late collapse, and will start as among the favourites yet again.

𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐚𝐥 𝐒𝐞𝐯𝐞𝐧𝐬 𝐂𝐢𝐫𝐜𝐮𝐢𝐭 𝐃𝐚𝐭𝐞𝐬

Christie 7s | 27/28 July |Nairobi

KRU 7s |3/4 August | Kakamega

Dala 7s | 17/18 August | Kisumu

Kabeberi 7s |24/25 August | TBC

Driftwood 7s | 7/8 September | Mombasa

Prinsloo 7s | 14/15 September | Nakuru