Kakamega to host inaugural KRU 7s in 2024 circuit

Photo || Kenya Cup

Kakamega to host inaugural KRU 7s in 2024 circuit

Mark Kinyanjui 08:00 - 01.05.2024

The KRU 7s has been added to the five exsisting legs for the 2024 edition of the National Sportpesa Circuit.

The rugby landscape in Kenya is set for an exciting turn as Kabras RFC, the 2017 National 7s Circuit champions, gear up to host the inaugural Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) 7s. 

This highly anticipated event, serving as the second leg of the 2024 National 7s Circuit, is scheduled to take place on August 3-4 at the ASK Kakamega Showground.

Kabras RFC's selection as hosts marks the third time that the 7s circuit will grace Kakamega, a town with a growing reputation as a rugby hub. 

The town previously hosted the circuit in 2022, with Kabras RFC emerging victorious in the Kakamega 7s after a thrilling 19-7 win over Menengai Oilers.

 The familiarity of the venue, coupled with the passionate support of rugby lovers in the region, sets the stage for an electrifying tournament.

The decision to introduce the KRU 7s comes after the discontinuation of the Tisap 7s, which faced criticism for various issues including sub-standard pitch conditions and inadequate preparation. 

With Kabras RFC at the helm, rugby enthusiasts can expect a world-class tournament that upholds the highest standards of professionalism and excitement.

The 2024 National 7s Circuit promises a thrilling lineup of events, kicking off with the Christie 7s hosted by Kenya Harlequin on July 28-29 at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi. 

Following this, the action shifts to Kakamega for the KRU 7s, offering players a brief respite before the exhilarating Dala 7s in Kisumu on August 17-18.

The excitement continues with the Kabeberi 7s on August 24-25, with the venue yet to be confirmed. 

Rugby enthusiasts will then flock to Mombasa for the Driftwood 7s on September 7-8, before culminating the circuit with the highly anticipated Prinsloo 7s in Nakuru on September 14-15.

As defending champions of the circuit, KCB Rugby will undoubtedly be aiming to maintain their dominance, having secured an impressive total of 113 points in the previous campaign. Their stellar performances in events such as the Kabeberi 7s, Dala 7s, and Christie 7s underscore their consistency and excellence on the rugby field.

With a packed schedule of exhilarating matches and top-tier talent on display, the 2024 National 7s Circuit promises to be a spectacle for rugby fans across Kenya. From Nairobi to Kakamega, Kisumu to Mombasa, and Nakuru, the tournament showcases the vibrancy and passion for rugby that defines the Kenyan sporting landscape.

Dates for the 2024 National 7s Circuit:

Christie 7s: July 27-28 (Nairobi)

KRU 7s: August 3-4 (Kakamega)

Dala 7s: August 17-18 (Kisumu)

Kabeberi 7s: August 24-25 (To be confirmed)

Driftwood 7s: September 7-8 (Mombasa)

Prinsloo 7s: September 14-15 (Nakuru)