Firat names final Harambee Stars 23-man traveling squad for Malawi Four Nations Tournament

FOOTBALL Firat names final Harambee Stars 23-man traveling squad for Malawi Four Nations Tournament

Mark Kinyanjui 08:33 - 21.03.2024

Engin Firat has named the 23-man traveling squad that jetted out to Malawi on Thursday morning, with Joseph Okumu and Gor Mahia's 'Simiti' included

French Ligue 1 star Joseph Okumu and Gor Mahia left back Geoffrey ‘Simiti’ Ochieng have been included in Engin Firat’s traveling squad for the Four Nations Tournament in Malawi, scheduled to be played on Saturday 23 to Tuesday 26 March.

The team departed on Thursday morning, and will compete in their first match against the hosts, Malawi, at the Bingu National Stadium on Saturday, March 23.

Dennis Ng’ang’a has not been deemed fit enough to be able to make the squad, while Erick ‘Marcelo’ Ouma was not able to link up with the squad completely after suffering an injury last week.

Meanwhile, Jonah Ayunga and John Avire have all made the final travelling squad, as have AFC Leopards’ Kayci Odhiambo and Tusker’s Chris Erambo, while Bandari’s David Sakwa has been dropped.

This tournament presents a valuable opportunity to play more matches within the short international window, thus aiding in preparation for the upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup and 2025 AFCON qualifying campaigns.

Saturday, March 23, 2024

Zambia vs Zimbabwe (Bingu National Stadium, 2 pm)

Malawi vs Kenya (Bingu National Stadium, 5 pm)

Tuesday, March 26, 2024

Third place play-off | Loser Match 1 vs Loser Match 2 | Bingu National Stadium, 2 pm

Final | Winner Match 1 vs Winner Match 2 | Bingu National Stadium, 5 pm

Traveling squad

Goalkeepers: Ian Otieno, Byrne Omondi, Patrick Matasi

Defenders: Joseph Okumu, Johnstone Omurwa, Alphonce Omija, Collins Sichenje,Daniel Anyembe, Abud Omar, Amos Nondi, Geoffrey Ochieng

Midfielders; Chrispine Erambo, Richard Odada,Kenneth Muguna, Kaycie Odhiambo, Rooney Onyango, Ayub Timbe, Anthony Akumu,  Eric Johanna

Forwards: Michael Olunga, Jonah Ayunga, Benson Omalla, John Avire

 Follow Pulse Sports WhatsApp channel for more news.