Patrick Odongo returns as Kenya 7s squad for monumental Poland challenger is announced

Patrick Odongo returns as Kenya 7s squad for monumental Poland challenger is announced

Mark Kinyanjui 14:12 - 10.05.2024

Shujaa sensation Patrick Odongo makes a return to the squad for the monumental Poland challenger, as three who were part of the trip to Uruguay are dropped.

The Kenya Sevens men's and women's squads for the final round of the HSBC Sevens Challenger 2024 have been confirmed by their respective management teams. 

The tournaments will be played as standalone events, with the men's competition taking place in Munich, Germany, and the women's competition in Krakow, Poland, on May 18-19.

In the men's squad, Patrick Odongo makes a return after missing out in Uruguay due to injury. 

He joins co-captains Vincent Onyala and Tony Omondi, with Brian Tanga also returning after recovering from illness. Herman Humwa earns his first appearance of the campaign, rounding out the trio of changes to the side.

 However, Dennis Abukuse, Elvis Olukusi, and Ben Salem, who were part of the team in Uruguay, are not included for the Germany assignment.

For the women's squad, Freshia Oduor and Edith Nairaka are set to make their Challenger debuts in Poland.

 They replace Grace Okulu and Janet Okello, who were not released for the assignment by their club, MIE Pearls in Japan. Sheila Chajira captains the team to Poland.

In the men's competition, Shujaa finds themselves in Pool C alongside Chile, Japan, and Portugal, while the Lionesses are grouped in Pool C with Belgium, Mexico, and Poland. 

Both teams will be aiming to secure a top-four finish in the overall standings, which will qualify them for the promotion playoffs in Madrid, Spain.

Shujaa Squad

Vincent Onyala, Tony Omondi (Co-Captains), Kevin Wekesa, John Okoth, Brian Tanga, George Ooro, Patrick Odongo, Samuel Asati, Herman Humwa, Nygel Amaitsa, Lamech Ambetsa, Chrisant Ojwang

Lionesses Squad

Sheila Chajira (Captain), Judith Okumu, Christabel Lindo, Stella Wafula, Naomi Amuguni, Terry Ayesa, Sharon Auma, Sinaida Nyachio, Phoebe Akinyi, Maureen Muritu, Freshia Oduor (debut), Edith Nariaka (debut).