Tharaka Nithi ‘fully ready’ to host 8th edition of KYISA games

Inside Kirubia Stadium. Image: County Government of Tharaka Nithi

Tharaka Nithi ‘fully ready’ to host 8th edition of KYISA games

Festus Chuma • 12:38 - 12.02.2023

Youngsters aged between 18 and 23 years from 47 counties will participate in the championships aimed at nurturing talent.

Tharaka Nithi County has declared itself ready to host the 8th edition of the Kenya Youth Inter-County Sports Association (KYISA) Games from April 20-30.

The games, expected to bring together over 3,000 people, will be hosted at the newly constructed Kirubia Stadium, among four other venues.

In a statement, the County Government of Tharaka Nithi said that the Kenya Inter-County Sports Association council had approved most facilities to host the event.

“The Kenya Inter-County Sports Association council today (Wednesday) toured some of the sports facilities that will host the games,” the statement reads in part.

“We are glad as a county government that the council has given our preparations this far a nod of approval.”

Tharaka Nithi has faced scrutiny and criticism in the lead-up to the tournament over the not-ready-Kirubia Stadium, which is scheduled to host the opening and closing ceremonies of the tournament.

Kirubia Stadiums dressing room. Image: Tharaka Nithi County Government

The stadium, located in the suburbs of Chuka town, was opened in January 2021, but the artistry on the grass has raised questions due to poor maintenance.

Kirubia Stadium has an athletics track hosting events such as sprints, middle-distance races, hurdles, and relays.

Apart from the track, the stadium accommodates field events such as shot put, hammer throw, discus, javelin throw, long jump, triple jump, pole vault, and high jump.

Other venues scheduled to host KYISA games include Chuka University, Chuka Boys High School, Chuka Girls High School, and Ikuu Boys High School.

The first edition of KYISA games was held in Laikipia County, while the other following editions were held in Kwale, Siaya, Makueni, Busia, and Nandi counties.