Gor Mahia seeking to consolidate title with City Stars win as Tusker hope to take advantage of slip ups with Vihiga win

©Imago Images

FKFPL Gor Mahia seeking to consolidate title with City Stars win as Tusker hope to take advantage of slip ups with Vihiga win

Mark Kinyanjui 07:00 - 25.06.2023

Gor Mahia lead the race on 67 points with Tusker second on 66. Who between the two will win the 2023/2024 FKF PL title?

After what has been a grueling season for most FKFPL teams, the 2022/2023 season will finally culminate this afternoon when all teams play their final game of the season from 3:00 PM on Sunday afternoon.

With the relegation places already sealed, the only question mark remains as to who between Tusker and Gor Mahia will win the trophy, which will make it the third season in a row that the race has gone down to the wire (counting the voided 2021/22 season).

Gor Mahia will be facing Nairobi City Stars at the Kasarani stadium on Sunday afternoon knowing they must win at all costs to stand a chance of winning the title.

Tusker will play away to Vihiga Bullets as well knowing that a win for them could help them retain the title, assuming that Gor Mahia draw or lose to City Stars.

Things did not go down well for K’Ogalo in their previous game at the same venue on Wednesday as they were shocked 3-2 by visitors Kakamega Homeboyz, which put them in a position of pressure and made the fans start questioning the credibility of head coach Johnathan McKinstry.

Had they beaten Homeboyz, they would surely have consolidated the title given Tusker were held to a frustrating draw by Posta Rangers in Ruaraka.

However, they are still the leaders on 67 points, just one ahead of Robert Matano’s charges. They also have a superior goal difference of 28 to Tusker’s 18. They have won 19, drawn 10 and lost 4 of their FKF PL fixtures this season. They have scored 49 goals and conceded just 21 this season.

However, the form of star striker Benson Omala has taken a nosedive ever since he missed a penalty against AFC Leopards in May, going on a run of five games without a goal. 

He will have to find his shooting boots to stand a chance of not just helping Gor win the league, but also to equal and break Maurice Ochieng Sonyi’s record of scoring 26 goals in a single league season in 1976, after Elvis Rupia eqaulized the record on Thursday.

"If we pick up the three points on Sunday, then we are champions, and on Sunday, it is going to be a cup final," Mckinstry said after the loss to Kakamega Homeboyz.

"If you win, you are going to have it, and if you do not, then the chance is not yours to win. It is very clear now.

"It is now about recovery and getting ready for the City Stars game. We will give it everything we can and get the three points."

On the side of Tusker, they must win at all costs and hope other results go their way. Having drawn 1-1 with Posta Rangers despite creating a flurry of chances, they will have to become more clinical in order to win.

Tusker will be boosted by the availability of David Majak, Benson Onyango and Jackson Macharia, who came on as substitutes against Posta after a spell out with injury and could be valuable in helping the Ruaraka based outfit retain their title. 

They have amassed 66 points this season, winning 19, drawing nine and losing five of their fixtures. They have scored 41 times and conceded 23 times, leaving them with a goal difference of 18. 

“We need to become more calm and clinical. We need to know what we are doing in front of the goal. We have to work on our area of finishing,” Matano said after the game against Posta Rangers.

“We have to work on becoming calmer. We should not play under pressure. We have to realize that they (Gor Mahia) did not win. So we just have to do our job and hope for the best.”

FKF Premier League Sunday fixtures (Kick off 3:00 PM)

Gor Mahia vs  Nairobi City Stars (Kasarani Stadium)

Vihiga Bullets vs Tusker (Mumias Sports Complex)

Kariobangi Sharks vs AFC Leopards ( Nyayo Stadium)

Sofapaka vs Nzoia Sugar (Ruaraka Stadium)

Wazito vs Mathare (Muhoroni Stadium)

Posta Rangers vs Bandari (Police Sacco Stadium)

KCB vs Police (Utalii Grounds)

Kakamega Homeboyz vs Bidco United (Bukhungu Stadium)