Coronation day for Mara Sugar as relegation battle heats up in NSL finale

Coronation day for Mara Sugar as relegation battle heats up in NSL finale

Festus Chuma 09:00 - 30.06.2024

Mara Sugar FC will celebrate their NSL victory as other teams face tense battles to avoid relegation on the final day.

Police Sacco Stadium will be the venue where National Super League champions Mara Sugar FC will play their final match of the season against Vihiga Bullets.

With the league title already in hand, Mara Sugar will look to cap off their spectacular season with a victory in front of their elated supporters.

While Mara Sugar relishes their triumphant season the attention in the league's final fixtures also turns dramatically to the other end of the table.

Mombasa Elite and Kajiado FC face their decisive battles against relegation.

Only one point separates Mombasa Elite from the drop, and they are in a precarious position where even a draw against visiting Mulembe United might not suffice, should Kajiado FC secure a victory against relegated Gusii FC in Kisii.

Mombasa Elite, having the home-ground advantage at the Serani Sports Club, will be under intense pressure to perform.

A season filled with ups and downs comes down to this final fixture where the stakes could not be higher.

On the other hand, Kajiado FC, needing more than just a win - they must overcome a two-goal deficit in addition to Mombasa Elite losing - face an uphill battle, but football, with its unpredictable nature, has room for last-minute drama.

Mara Sugar's dominance this season has been a testament to their consistent performances and resilience.

Benedict Wanjala's tactical acumen has been praised, as he masterfully navigated the season with a blend of experienced stalwarts and emerging talents, creating a robust team that seldom looked like faltering.

The champions will aim to not only celebrate but also to set the tone for their next campaign in the higher echelons of the football league system.

NSL 2023/2024 round 38 fixtures

Mombasa Elite FC vs Mulembe United FC  

Gusii FC vs Kajiado FC

Migori Youth FC vs Rainbow FC

Mathare United FC vs Mombasa Stars FC

SS Assad FC vs Naivas FC Silibwet FC vs Nairobi United FC

Luanda Villa SC vs Dimba Patriots FC

Vihiga Bullets FC vs Mara Sugar FC

Kibera Black Stars FC vs Kisumu Allstars FC

MCF FC vs Darajani Gogo FC

All fixtures will kick off simultaneously at 2.00 pm.