Barthes U-20 trophy: Kenya Chipu claim sweet revenge over Zimbabwe to qualify for World U-20 trophy

Photo || Rugby Afrique

Barthes U-20 trophy: Kenya Chipu claim sweet revenge over Zimbabwe to qualify for World U-20 trophy

Mark Kinyanjui 21:00 - 28.04.2024

Kenya U-20 claim sweet revenge over Zimbabwe to clinch the Barthes U-20 trophy

The Kenya U-20 15s side Chipu have reclaimed the title they lost to Zimbabwe last year by beating them 28-13 in the final of the Barthes U-20 trophy that took place in Harare on Sunday, April 28.

The win means Chipu have qualified for the World U-20 trophy which will take place in Scotland  from July 2nd to 17th.

Chipu trailed  10-0 after 11 minutes,  but tries from two unconverted tries by  Iddo Kuta, Michael Wamalwa clawed them back, before Patrick Wainaina’s try was converted wel by James Olela.

A penalty by Olela moments into the second half stretched the Kenyans’ lead to 20-10, but Zimbabwe got a penalty of their own some 10 minutes later to reduce the deficit to just seven.

However, captain Andy Cole Omolo would land another unconverted try, before Olela netted a penalty in the 75th minute to effectively give them the win.

Head Coach Simon Jawichre will have been happy with his side’s showing at the tournament.

Speaking to Kenya Rugby earlier this week, Jawichre said, ” I’m extremely proud of the boys. This is probably one of the best carefully selected squads for Kenya U20. With time we can only get better. 

“We planned quite a number of things and this time round a lot of things worked, thanks be to God. I believe many wrote us off and unfortunately the expectations are going to rise, we will take it in our stride and keep working. ”

The Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy is the official men’s U20 championship for Africa. The winner of this competition qualifies to represent Africa at the World Rugby U20 Trophy which this year takes place from 2-17 July in Scotland.

This year’s competition features four teams led by hosts and defending champions Zimbabwe, Kenya, Tunisia and Namibia and is played on a round robin basis with the team accumulating the most points after three rounds declared the winner.