Local and international drivers ready to roar at Safari Rally as organisers unveil entries

MOTORSPORTS Local and international drivers ready to roar at Safari Rally as organisers unveil entries

Abigael Wafula 05:30 - 05.03.2024

The organisers of the 2024 WRC Safari Rally have unveiled the entries and this year's edition of the event will also be a thrilling showpiece with a pool of talented local and international drivers.

As preparations ramp up for the World Rally Championship (WRC) Safari Rally in Naivasha, entry lists have already been unveiled and the world awaits to witness the wonder of one of the most iconic fixtures on the global motorsport calendar.

This year’s edition of the event takes place from March 28 to 31, a switch from recent seasons when the grueling gravel event was held during June.

Toyota Gazoo Racing won last year’s edition of the event, thanks to eight-time WRC champion Sébastien Ogier.

However, Ogier will not be contesting this year’s edition of the Safari but former champion (2022) Kalle Rovanperä fields a GR Yaris Rally1. Rovanpera will join Welshman Elfyn Evans as well as Takamoto Katsuta, who has finished on the podium twice in the Safari.

On his part, Esapekka Lappi will be aiming to continue his winning form after he claimed a popular victory in Sweden last month. The Finn drives part-time for Hyundai Motorsport and he will pilot an i20 N Rally1 car for the Korean marque alongside championship leader Thierry Neuville plus Ott Tänak.

Follow the Pulse Sports Kenya WhatsApp Channel for more news.

M-Sport Ford will field three drivers including Adrien Fourmaux who will start fresh from his maiden podium in Sweden. The duo of Grégoire Munster and gentleman driver Jourdan Serderidis complete the British team’s line-up.

The battle in WRC2 will see Carl Tundo, driving a Ford Fiesta, contesting for the title one more time. However, he faces a stern test from the likes of Oliver Solberg, Gus Greensmith, Nicolas Ciamin, and Kajetan Kajetanowicz all vying for victory.

Karan Patel should also not be ruled out, and nor should FIA Junior WRC regular Diego Domínguez, who will make his WRC2 debut in a Citroën C3.

Other Kenyans in the mix include Hamza Anwar, Andrew Muiruri, and Aakif Virani, who will also be contesting for the top prize.