Esse Akida returns as Oduor names Harambee Starlets provisional squad


FOOTBALL Esse Akida returns as Oduor names Harambee Starlets provisional squad

Festus Chuma 15:46 - 27.03.2023

This is the first international engagement for Starlets in over a year.

New Harambee Starlets coach Godfrey Oduor has named a provisional squad of 33 players for the upcoming friendly against Albania.

In-form forward Esse Akida who plays for Greek giants PAOK Women, is making a return to the squad after a three year hiatus. 

The 30-year-old forward was part of the team that helped Kenya qualify for its first-ever Africa Women's Cup of Nations in 2016.

Coach Oduor has also recalled Spain-based goalkeeper Annette Kundu and midfielder Cynthia Shilwatso who recently joined Ukrainian women top tier side FC Kryvbas. 

“We are happy to have the girls back. We want to start moving this team forward, it’s time to get back to work so that we can realize the immense potential of this team, ” the coach said.

Oduor has also included Tanzania-based attacker Jentrix Shikangwa and Gaspo Women midfielder Elizabeth Wambui. 

Notable omissions from the squad are Simba Queens shot-stopper Carolyne Rufa and Alliance FC defender Anita Adongo.

This will be Oduor's first assignment as coach after his appointment to the team last week by the Football Kenya Federation (FKF). 

Kenya will be playing Albania on Tuesday, April 11 in what will be their first international involvement since 2021.

Harambee Starlets provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Valentine Khwaka (Gaspo Women), Diana Tembesi (Vihiga Queens), Annedy Kundu (Rea Women FC), Lilian Awuor (ASJ Soyaux Charente)

Defenders: Christine Awuor (Zetech Sparks), Lupemba Bilonda (Thika Queens), Stellah Mulongo (Nakuru Queens), Dorcas Shikobe (Sethu), Enez Mango (Farul Constanta), Vivian Nasaka (Hakkarigucuspor), Phoebe Owiti (Hakkarigucuspor), Ruth Ingosi (Simba Queens), Wincate Kaari (Yanga Princess).

Midfielders: Merceline Wayodi (Vihiga Queens), Ketsia Ngaira (Ulinzi Starlets), Monalizer Anyango (Zetech Sparks), Sheryl Angachi (Ulinzi Starlets), Mercylne Anyango (Batumi women- Georgia), Lorna Nyarinda (Thika Queens), Maximila Robi (Kibera Soccer), Janet Moraa (Vihiga Queens), Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo Women), Violet Nanjala (Association Municipal de Layaauone Football Feminine), Vivian Corazone (Simba Queens), Cynthia Shilwatso (Kryvbas Women),

Forwards: Monica Etot (Kisumu Allstarlets), Desma Nyawade (Kisped Queens), Jentrix Shikangwa (Simba Queens), Mwanalima Adam (Hakkarigucuspor), Esse Akida (FC PAOK), Tereza Engesha (Hyundai Steek R.A), Purity Alukwe (Zetech Sparks), Marjoleen Nekesa(SK Slavia Praha).

Related content