Karan Patel wins ARC Equator Rally

©Office of Principal Secretary State Department of Sports

MOTORSPORTS Karan Patel wins ARC Equator Rally

Festus Chuma 19:45 - 19.03.2023

The rally was the second round of the 2023 FIA Africa Rally Championship (ARC).

Kenya National Rally Championship title holder Karan Katel has been crowned the 2023 ARC Equator Rally Champion after overcoming 10 grueling stages in his Ford Fiesta R2.

Navigated by his longtime partner Tauseef Khan, Patel clocked 2h 20 m 59sec to secure his maiden victory in the Equator Rally  that took place in Voi.

Ugandan driver Yasin Nasser came in second after clocking 2h 17m 19s, while Jasmeet Chana  sealed the podium in 2h 28 m 58s.

Fourth overall was  Ugandan Jas Mangat and his partner Joseph Kamya in Mitsubishi Evo10 while Izhar Mirza from Kenya finished in fifth place.

Asad Anwar who is brother of legendary driver Azar Anwar clinched sixth place having clocked 2h 57 m 02sec while Nikhil Sachania finished at seventh place followed by Kush Patel in a Subaru Impreza GC8.

Karan Patel has won 2023 Equator Rally
© Karan Patel Racing

Karan won five stages yesterday while today he scooped two stages to win the title.

The two day rally started on Saturday with the shake down at Teita Estate in Mwatate followed by Charcoal, Camp, Karani and Kamtonga stages.


1.Karan Patel/Tauseef Khan, Ford Fiesta R2, 2 hours 20 minutes 59.3 seconds;

2.Yasin Nasser/Ali Katumba, Ford Fiesta R2, 2:27:19.6;

3.Jasmeet Chana/Ravinder Chana, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 10, 2:28:58.7;

4.Jas Mangat/Joseph Kamya, Mitsubishi EVO 10, 2:29:10;

5.Izhar Mirza/Kavit Dave, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 10, 2:32:28.0;

6.Asad Anwar/Shamir Yusuf, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 10, 2:37:02.7;

7.Nikil Sachania/Deep Patel, Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 10, 2:39:28.2;

8.Kush Patel/Mudasar Chaudry, Subaru Impreza GC8, 2:54:32.4;

9.McRae Kimathi/Mwangi Kioni, Ford Fiesta R3, 3:24:56.4.