Canada-based star Olindi included as Kenya Simbas name provisional squad for Rugby Africa Cup escapade

Photo || World Rugby

Canada-based star Olindi included as Kenya Simbas name provisional squad for Rugby Africa Cup escapade

Mark Kinyanjui 12:20 - 29.05.2024

The former Shujaa star makes a return to the squad for the first time since moving to Canada as KRU announce provisional Simbas squad to commence Rugby Africa Cup preparations.

The Kenya Rugby Union has officially unveiled the Simbas squad for the 2024 season, featuring an exciting blend of seasoned campaigners and fresh talent.

Notably, 14 players have received their maiden call-ups, many of whom showcased their skills during the recently concluded Rugby Super Series. 

This new cohort includes Francis Atiti, Felix Ojow, Amos Obae, Felix Okoth, William Mwanji, Griffin Chao, Obat Kuke, Tyson Maina, Richel Wangila, Matthias Osimbo, Dennis Abukuse, Abutwalib Wesonga, and Quinto Ongo.

In a notable addition, former Kenya Sevens international Johnstone Olindi, who currently plies his trade in Canada, has been called up to the squad.

 The team also welcomes back several players who missed last year’s internationals, including the foreign-based trio of Andrew Siminyu, Malcolm Onsando, and Thomas Okeyo, as well as Edward Mwaura, Clinton Juma, Samson Onsomu, Beldad Ogeta, and Emmanuel Silungi. Timothy Okwemba, last capped in 2019, also makes a return.

Several seasoned players such as John Okoth, Vincent Onyala, Brian Tanga, Samuel Asati, and Lamech Ambetsa are currently away with the national sevens team, Shujaa, as they prepare for the Olympic Games. 

Additionally, Jone Kubu is recovering from an ankle injury and is undergoing return-to-play protocols following successful surgery.

The Simbas will kick off their 2024 season with the Rugby Africa Cup, scheduled to take place from July 20-28 in Kampala, Uganda.


LOOSEHEAD PROPS:  Francis Atiti (Menengai Oilers), Edward Mwaura (Kabras Sugar), Andrew Siminyu (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)

HOOKERS: Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar), Teddy Akala (Kabras Sugar), Griffin Musila (KCB)

TIGHTHEAD PROPS: Wilhite Mususi (KCB), Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar), Hillary Mwanjilwa (Kabras Sugar)

LOCKS: Brian Juma (Kabras Sugar), Hibrahim Ayoo (Menengai Oilers), Felix Okoth (Nakuru), Clinton Juma (Menengai Oilers), Hillary Odhiambo (Kabras Sugar), Malcolm Onsando ( SCM Rugby Timisoara, Romania), Emmanuel Silungi (KCB)

BLINDSIDE FLANKERS: George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar), Felix Ojow (KCB), Amos Obae (Nakuru)

OPENSIDE FLANKERS: Brian Ndirangu (Westshore RFC, Canada), Thomas Okeyo (NovaVit Griffons, South Africa), Elvis Olukusi (KCB), William Mwanji (Kabras Sugar)

NUMBER EIGHTS: Jeanson Musoga (Kabras Sugar), Elkeans Musonye (Menengai Oilers), Obat Kuke (Blak Blad)

SCRUM HALVES: Michael Wanjala (KCB), Samson Onsomu (Menengai Oilers), Brian Wahinya (KCB)

FLY HALVES: Ntabeni Dukisa (Kabras Sugar), Barry Young (Kabras Sugar), Johnstone Olindi (Westshore RFC, Canada)

LEFT WING: Beldad Ogeta (Menengai Oilers), Griffin Chao (Kabras Sugar), Derrick Ashiundu (Kabras Sugar)

INSIDE CENTERS: Walter Okoth (Kabras Sugar), Tyson Maina (Menengai Oilers), Paul Mutsami (Kenya Harlequin)

OUTSIDE CENTERS: Richel Wangila (Kenya Harlequin), Bryceson Adaka (Kabras Sugar), Mathias Osimbo (Kabras Sugar), Dennis Abukuse (Menengai Oilers)

RIGHT WING: Joel Inzuga (Mwamba), Timothy Omela (Menengai Oilers), Alfred Orege (Kabras Sugar)

FULLBACKS: Abutwalib Wesonga (Menengai Oilers), Quinto Ongo (Impala)