Firat drops quartet from Harambee Stars provisional squad

© AFC Leopards

FOOTBALL Firat drops quartet from Harambee Stars provisional squad

Kiplagat Sang • 10:18 - 22.03.2023

The coach is preparing the team for a planned friendly against Iran.

Ahead of Kenya's friendly against Iran, Harambee Stars head coach Engin Firat has reportedly dropped four players.

Among the dropped players are AFC Leopards’ goalkeeper Levis Opiyo, Nzoia Sugar duo of Hassan Beja, and James Mwangi, and KCB’s Maurice Ojwang'.

With Opiyo’s exit, Firat remains with three goalkeepers in camp ahead of their match against the Middle East nation on Tuesday, March 28.

Patrick Matasi of Police FC, Zesco United’s Ian Otieno, and Bryne Omondi of KCB are the goalkeepers that will compete for a starting berth for the match.

Nzoia’s Beja and his teammate Mwangi were called up following their impressive performances in the Football Kenya Federation Premier League (FKFPL).

Firat is expected to lead the country in its first international engagement since FIFA lifted a suspension it had slapped on the CECAFA nation back in February 2022.

The Turkish coach has insisted that his main aim is to build a team for the future and has called for patience in the process.

The former Moldova coach also explained the importance of high-level friendlies in his quest to build a competitive Harambee Stars.

Firat is expected to trim the provisional squad further before travelling for the friendly match.

Players summoned for Iran friendly without dropped four:

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (Police FC), Ian Otieno (Zesco, Zambia), and Bryne Odhiambo (KCB).

Defenders: Joseph Okumu (Gent, Belgium), Brian Mandela (South Africa), Johnstone Omurwa (Estrela, Portugal), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), Andrew Juma (Bandari), David Ochieng (Mathare United), Collins Shichenje (AIK, Sweden), Mohamed Siraj (Bandari), Daniel Anyembe (Viborg, Denmark), Daniel Sakari (Tusker), Abud Omar (Kenya Police)

Midfielders: Amos Nondi (Ararat, Armenia), Richard Odada (Philadelphia Union, USA), Teddy Akumu (Sagan Tosu, Japan), Alpha Onyango (Gor Mahia), Kenneth Muguna (Azam, Tanzania), Abdallah Hasan (Bandari), Duke Abuya (Kenya Police), Wilkims Ochieng (FC Koper, Slovenia), Moses Mudavadi (KK Homeboyz), Alvin Mang’eni (Kenya Police), Victor Omune (AFC Leopards)

Forwards: Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia), Elvis Rupia (Kenya Police), Michael Olunga (Al Duhail, Qatar), Masud Juma (Al-Faisaly, Saudi Arabia), Alfred Scriven (IL Hodd, Norway)