Aldrine Kibet, Sigmunn Maina headline Kenya final squad named for CECAFA U18 tournament

FOOTBALL Aldrine Kibet, Sigmunn Maina headline Kenya final squad named for CECAFA U18 tournament

Festus Chuma 18:33 - 23.11.2023

Salim Babu reveals Kenya's U18 Junior Stars squad, a blend of school and league talents, set to compete in CECAFA U18 Championship in Kisumu.

The Kenya National U18 boys' team, Junior Stars head coach Salim Babu has unveiled the final squad for the highly anticipated CECAFA U18 tournament.

With a mix of promising school team players and talents from various tournaments and FKF-run leagues across Kenya, the Junior Stars are gearing up for an exciting competition.

In a bid to fortify their roster, the team has called upon the experience of players from the Football Kenya Federation Premier League.

Notable additions include Stanley Wilson and Sigmunn Maina from Kariobangi Sharks, Baron Ochieng from Sofapaka, Lucas Maina from Ulinzi Stars, and Ibrahim Wanzala from Kakamega Homeboyz.

The Junior Stars depth is further enhanced by players from National Super League and Division One clubs, with Rainbow FC and MOFA contributing their fair share of seasoned talents.

Tyron Kariuki, Manzur Suleiman, and Joseph Bate are among the standout names in this category.

Notably, the Junior Stars have also tapped into international talent reservoirs, with USA-based Louis Ingavi and the trio from Nastic Sports Academy - Aldrine Kibet, Amos Wanjala, and Alvin Kasavuli - making the cut.

The team departed for Kisumu on Thursday, November 23, 2023, where all their matches will take place.

Kenya finds itself in Group A, sharing the stage with Somalia, Rwanda, Sudan, and Djibouti.

Their journey begins with an opening match against Sudan, promising an intense battle right from the start.

The CECAFA U18 Boys Championship is scheduled to kick off on November 25th and will run until December 9th, 2023, with matches hosted in both Kisumu and Kakamega.

Final Squad

Goalkeepers: Ibrahim Wanzala, Joshua Keya, Junior Odhiambo.

Defenders: Baron Ochieng, Joseph Bate, Amos Wanjala, Manzur Okwaro.

Midfielders: Stanley Wilson, Dalphene Ezekiah, Tyron Kariuki, Lucas Maina, Adrian Oloo, Elly Awino,Sigmun Maina, Alvin Kasavuli, Collins Ochieng, Kevin Musambai, Joseph Omuse, Humphrey Omondi.

Forwards; Syphas Otieno, Dancan Odhiambo, Louise Ingavi, Aldrine Kibet. 

Follow our WhatsApp channel for more updates.