Four new faces in Harambee Stars squad for Four Nations Tournament

FOOTBALL Four new faces in Harambee Stars squad for Four Nations Tournament

Festus Chuma 17:06 - 29.05.2023

Apart from the four, three players are also making a comeback to the national team.

Harambee Stars coach Engin Firat has called up 30 players for his preliminary squad for the Four Nation Tournament in Mauritius slated for June 11th to June 18th.

Firat will take his strongest possible squad, including several European-based stars and captain Michael Olunga who plies his trade in Qatar with Al Duhail SC.

There are four maiden call ups in the squad namely Simon Masaka (Sofapaka), Kevin Luke Otiala (Kariobangi Sharks), Charles Ouma (Kenya Police), and Moses Shummah (Kakamega Homeboyz). 

Goalkeeper Brian Bwire has been recalled to the squad alongside defender Robinson Kamura and midfielder Boniface Omondi.

Stars are scheduled to play against the hosts, Pakistan and Djibouti in a round-robin mini-tournament.

Firat’s charges will kick off the campaign against Djibouti on Sunday June 11 at the Cote D’Or National Stadium before facing Pakistan two days later at the same venue. 

Harambee Stars' closing fixture will be against Mauritius on June 18 at Anjalay Coopen Stadium.

The matches will provide an opportunity for the Turkish coach to continue building his team ahead of the next competitive round of matches in November, the start of the qualifiers for the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

Provisional Squad


Ian Otieno (Zesco, Zambia), Bryne Odhiambo (KCB) ,Brian Bwire (Tusker), Simon Masaka (Sofapaka)


Joseph Okumu (Gent, Belgium), Daniel Anyembe (Viborg, Denmark), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden) Collins Shichenje (KUPS), Daniel Sakari (Tusker), David Ochieng (Kenya Police), Abud Omar (Kenya Police), Mohamed Siraj (Bandari), Kevin Luke Otiala (Kariobangi Sharks), Robinson Kamura (Kakamega Homeboyz)


Amos Nondi (Ararat, Armenia), Richard Odada (Philadelphia Union, USA), Kenneth Muguna (Azam, Tanzania), Teddy Akumu (Sagan Tosu, Japan), Alvin Mangeni (Kenya Police), Clifton Miheso (Kenya Police), Charles Ouma (Kenya Police), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Joseph Mwangi (Nzoia Sugar), Alpha Onyango (Gor Mahia), Bonface Omondi- (Gor Mahia), Victor Omune (AFC Leopards ).


Michael Olunga (Al Duhail, Qatar), Masoud Juma (Difaa El Jadidi, Morocco), Moses Shummah (Kakamega Homeboyz), Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia).