KRU 7s leg makes return as 2024 National Sevens Circuit dates are released

©KCB Rugby Club

RUGBY KRU 7s leg makes return as 2024 National Sevens Circuit dates are released

Festus Chuma 19:08 - 23.01.2024

Kenya's rugby sevens circuit is set to unfold in Nairobi, Kakamega, Kisumu, Mombasa, and Nakuru, uniting towns in a nationwide celebration of sevens excellence.

A bastion of rugby tradition in Kenya, Kakamega is set to take center stage as it hosts a crucial leg of the 2024 SportPesa National Sevens Circuit.

The rugby extravaganza is scheduled to kick off on the weekend of July 27-28 with the highly anticipated Christie Sevens in Nairobi, marking the beginning of an exhilarating series of events that will crisscross the nation.

Kakamega, known for its rich rugby heritage and home to powerhouses Kabras Sugar and Masinde Muliro RFC, will play host to the KRU 7s on the weekend of August 3-4.

This event will serve as a fitting replacement for the Tisap 7s, which traditionally lights up the rugby scene in neighboring Eldoret.

The Kenya Rugby Union's decision to choose Kakamega as the venue for the KRU 7s reflects the region's significance in the sport, not only as a nurturing ground for rugby talent but also as a hub for top-tier rugby action.

Following the pulsating clashes in Kakamega, teams will take a short break on August 10-11 before converging on Kisumu for the Dala 7s on August 17-18.

The rugby caravan will then make its way to an eagerly anticipated location for the George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial 7s on August 24-25, with the specific venue yet to be confirmed. 

This leg of the circuit is expected to add an extra layer of excitement as teams jostle for crucial points in their quest for the overall championship.

As the action unfolds, teams will enjoy another breather on August 30-September 1, gearing up for the penultimate stop in Mombasa. 

The Driftwood 7s, set to take place on September 7-8, will bring the rugby spectacle to the coastal city, offering fans a taste of sevens rugby against the backdrop of sandy beaches and ocean waves.

The grand finale awaits in Nakuru on September 14-15, where the Prinsloo 7s at the Nakuru Athletic Club will determine the ultimate champion of the SportPesa National Sevens Circuit 2024.

The reigning champions, KCB, are expected to face fierce competition as teams vie for supremacy in each leg of the tournament.

𝐒𝐩𝐨𝐫𝐭𝐏𝐞𝐬𝐚 𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐚𝐥 𝐒𝐞𝐯𝐞𝐧𝐬 𝐂𝐢𝐫𝐜𝐮𝐢𝐭 𝐂𝐨𝐧𝐟𝐢𝐫𝐦𝐞𝐝 𝐃𝐚𝐭𝐞𝐬

Christie 7s | 27/28 July |Nairobi

KRU 7s |3/4 August | Kakamega

Dala 7s | 17/18 August | Kisumu

Kabeberi 7s |24/25 August | TBC

Driftwood 7s | 7/8 September | Mombasa

Prinsloo 7s | 14/15 September | Nakuru 

Follow Pulse Sports WhatsApp channel for more news.