Harambee Starlets duo secure contract extensions with Turkish Women's club


FOOTBALL Harambee Starlets duo secure contract extensions with Turkish Women's club

Festus Chuma 13:31 - 25.08.2023

Kenyan footballers continue their successful journey in Turkey, securing contract extensions with Hakkârigücü Spor in women's top-flight league.

Harambee Starlets duo Mwanahalima 'Dogo' Adam and Vivian Nasaka have officially extended their tenure with the prestigious Turkish top-flight team Hakkarigücü Spor.

Dogo, renowned for her exceptional performance on the field, first joined Hakkarigücü Spor in 2021, following a successful stint with the now-defunct Thika Queens. 

Her instrumental role in leading Thika Queens to victory in the FKF Women's Premier League in the same year further solidified her reputation as a rising talent. 

Since her transition to the Turkish club, Dogo has continued to captivate fans and teammates alike with her prowess and determination.

Vivian Nasaka's journey to Hakkarigücü Spor began with the acclaimed FKFWPL champions, Vihiga Queens. 

Her impressive track record includes being a pivotal part of the squad that clinched the coveted Cecafa Club Championship title in Nairobi. 

Nasaka's commitment to excellence has also been showcased on the international stage, representing Kenya during the 2019 Cecafa Women's Championships and the 2020 Turkish Women's Cup.

Hakkârigücü, founded in 1989 and based in the eastern Turkish city of Hakkâri, has become a beacon for women's football in the region. 

The club's signature blue and white stripes adorn their home games, a symbol of their indomitable spirit and dedication to the sport. 

The extension of Dogo and Nasaka's contracts adds an exciting chapter to the club's history, further elevating their standing in Turkish women's football.

One of the remarkable highlights of Nasaka's and Dogo's careers was their participation in the 2020 Turkish Women's Cup. 

This esteemed tournament saw the convergence of talent from across the globe, including countries such as Hungary, Venezuela, Hong Kong, Romania, Uzbekistan, Northern Ireland, Turkmenistan, and Chile.