Gor Mahia striker Patrick Kaddu missing as Uganda names squad for AFCON qualifiers

©Gor Mahia

FOOTBALL Gor Mahia striker Patrick Kaddu missing as Uganda names squad for AFCON qualifiers

Festus Chuma 11:21 - 14.08.2023

Uganda Cranes make squad adjustments for crucial clash against Niger.

Gor Mahia striker Patrick Kaddu has been left out of Uganda's squad for the upcoming crucial match in the final stage of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers. 

Also conspicuous by their absence are Peter Lwasa and Shafiq Kagimu, who recently parted ways with the record Football Kenya Federation Premier League (FKFPL) champions, Gor Mahia.

Despite their instrumental roles in securing Gor Mahia's league title triumph, the trio has not been a regular presence in the squads selected by Uganda's Serbian head coach Milutin Sredojevic for the ongoing AFCON qualifiers.

Kaddu, however, managed to add the Charity Shield Cup to his accolades, adding a layer of intrigue to his exclusion from the national team roster.

Former Gor Mahia midfielder Khalid Aucho finds himself in the selection, a sign that his contributions have not gone unnoticed.

 Meanwhile, the absence of Bandari striker Umaru Kasumba, who showcased remarkable form in the FKF Premier League last season, has raised eyebrows among fans and pundits alike. 

His counterpart, William Wadri, has also been left out, further adding to the sense of unpredictability surrounding the squad selection.

Uganda's upcoming match against Niger, scheduled for 7th September at Grand Stade Marrakech in Morocco, is laden with significance. 

The Uganda Cranes currently occupy the third spot in Group F with four points. 

A victory against Niger, coupled with a defeat for Tanzania against Algeria, could pave the way for Uganda's qualification to the prestigious AFCON tournament.

Uganda Cranes provisional squad


Watenga Isima (Golden Arrows FC, South Africa), Magoola Salim Omar (Richards Bay FC, South Africa), Lukwago Charles (Unattached), Alionzi Nafian (Unattached), Mutakubwa Joel (BUL FC, Uganda)


Semakula Kenneth (SC Villa, Uganda), Begisa James (URA FC, Uganda), Muleme Isaac (Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Awany Timothy (SC Ashdod, Israel), Lwaliwa Halidi (FK Bregalnica Stip, North Macedonia), Gift Fred (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Mugabi Bevis (Motherwell FC, Scotland), Musa Ramathan (VFK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Wasswa Geofrey (Ethiopian Buna SC, Ethiopia), Bwomono Elvis (IBV Vestamanyaer, Iceland), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (AC Leganes, Spain)


Aucho Khalid (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Byaruhanga Bobosi (Austin FC, USA), Sentamu Siraje (Vipers SC, Uganda), Lwanga Taddeo (APR FC, Rwanda), Ndhondhi Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC, Uganda), Mutyaba Travis (SC Villa, Uganda), Mugulusi Isma (Feirense, Portugal), Mato Rogers (Sanliurfaspor, Turkey), Ochaya Joseph (Al Makawloon, Egypt), Miya Faruku (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Tibita Laban (URA FC, Uganda), Kasule Ibrahim (New York Red Bull II, USA)


Okwi Emmanuel (Erbil SC, Iraq), Bayo Fahad (VFK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Basangwa Richard (Wadi Degla SC, Egypt), Ssebufu Frank (New York Redbull II, USA)