Elvis Rupia finally breaks 47-year Golden Boot record as Omala equalises it

Elvis Rupia wins the FKFPL golden boot. Photo Credit: Police FC

FKFPL Elvis Rupia finally breaks 47-year Golden Boot record as Omala equalises it

Mark Kinyanjui 18:16 - 26.06.2023

The standings of the FKFPL golden boot following the end of the season.

After what has been quite an interesting season from a goal-scoring perspective, the 2022/2023 FKF Premier League season finally culminated last Sunday, with Gor Mahia emerging victorious in the title race over Tusker.

It also proved to be a historic season with regards to the title race, as long-standing records were finally broken but in the most unimaginable fashion.

For a long time, Benson Omala led the race and looked to claim the coveted prize, but Elvis Rupia pipped him to the award after a stellar run of goalscoring form in the last few matches of the season. 

Pulse Sports brings you the goalscoring charts after the conclusion of  the season.

27 Goals: Elvis Rupia (Kenya Police)

Elvis Machapo Rupia finally made history by becoming the first player not only to hit 26 goals, but to also make it 27 since Moris Aloo Sonyi of Gor Mahia in 1976  when he scored in their 2-2 draw with KCB at the Utalii Grounds on Sunday afternoon.  

Rupia has also finally won the Golden Boot after coming close on two previous occasions in 2018 and 2021. 

26 Goals: Benson Omala (Gor Mahia)

After a barren run of six games without scoring, Benson Omala finally hit the 26 goal-mark when he headed the ball past Steve Njunge’s net in their 4-1 win over Nairobi City Stars on Sunday afternoon.

Omala had failed to find the back of the net since his brace against Mathare United, which allowed Rupia to pip him not just to the Golden Boot, but to breaking the goal-scoring record. As they prepare for the forthcoming season, Omala will have his eye on making amends and being more consistent next time.

14 Goals: Joseph Mwangi (Nzoia Sugar FC)

For the eighth game in a row, Joseph Mwangi was unable to add to his tally of 14 goals as the Sugar Millers had to settle for a 0-0 draw with Batoto Ba Mungu in Ruaraka on Sunday.

The winger will, however, seek to build on from a memorable breakout year, when he produced a run of form that won him a call-up to the Kenya national team in March and June this year.

13 goals: Hassan Abdallah (Bandari FC)

Hassan Abdallah completed the season in sublime style as he scored the winning goal in their 2-1 win over Posta Rangers , to cap off a strong finish to the season for Bandari under interim head coach Twahir Muhiddin.

12 goals: Umaru Kasumba (Bandari FC)

After a good run of goalscoring form that saw him hit double digits for the season, Umaru Kasumba was unable to add to his tally for the fourth week in a row at the same match against Posta Rangers.

12 goals: Kevin Etemesi (Nairobi City Stars)

Kevin Etemesi has had a unique debut season in the league. Having signed from the third tier of Kenyan football, he hit 12 goals for the season, and is the only FKFPL player to have scored a brace in five different matches. However, he could not find the net in the side’s 4-1 loss to Gor Mahia in Kasarani.

11 goals. Deogracious Ojok (Tusker)

Deogracious Ojok of Tusker became the latest member of the 10 goal mark when he headed a goal into the net during their 1-1 draw against Posta Rangers in Ruaraka. Four days later, he made it 11 when he headed Tusker into the lead in the second minute in Mumias.

10 goals. Kennedy Owino (KCB)

Kennedy Owino finished the season as the latest member of the 10 goal a season tally as he netted the Banker’s first goal in their 2-2 draw with Kenya Police at the Utalii grounds.

Here is the list of the remaining top scorers for the season:

Tyson Otieno, Kariobangi Sharks FC- 9 goals

Yakhma Brian, FC Talanta - 9 goals

Hillary Simiyu, Ulinzi Stars-9 goals

Moses Shikanda, Kariobangi Sharks-8 goals

Samwel Kapen, Nairobi City Stars- 8 goals.

Manga Roddy, Sofapaka - 8 goals

Odongo Calvin, Posta Rangers- 7 goals

Okare Ezekiel, Bidco United- 7 goals

Ochieng Enosh, Ulinzi stars-7 goals

Nyakeya Cliff, AFC Leopards-7 goals

Kweyu Boniface, Nzoia Sugar-7 goals

Victor Omune , AFC Leopards -7goals

Austin Odhiambo, Gor Mahia -7 goals

Ogola Vincent, Vihiga Bullets-6 goals

Michael Kamaor, Kakamega Homeboyz- 6 goals

Daniel Otieno, Mathare United - 6 goals

Marita Brian, Posta Rangers- 6 goals

William Wadri ,Bandari-6 goals

Samwel Ndungu, Bidco -6 goals

Collins Odhiambo, Gor Mahia- 6 goals

Boniface Muchiri, Ulinzi Stars- 6 goals

Duke Abuya, Kenya Police- 6 goals

Ojo Olaniyi, AFC Leopards- 6 goals

Kevin Musamali, Kariobangi Sharks  - 6 goals

Henry Juma, Bidco United - 5 goals

Fortune Omotto, Kariobangi Sharks- 5 goals 

Paul Okoth, Kariobangi Sharks -5 goals

Staphod Odhiambo, Ulinzi Stars - 5 goals

Ikhekhai Sunday, Sofapaka- 5 goals 

Joseph Oyugi, Vihiga Bullets - 5 goals 

Sije Yashin, Nzoia Sugar - 5 goals 

Patrick Kaddu, Gor Mahia - 5 goas

Brian Eshianda, Kakamega Homeboyz - 5 goals

Marvine Nabwire, Kenya Police- 5 goals